Can't delete group after using "Delete users"



  • We were doing some testing on a project that was going out to a group of testers. After our internal testing, I normally clear out all users and groups for the external testers.

    Normally I'd remove the users one at a time, but I used the Delete users button to clear all of them.

    Then I went to check the group and noticed it was still there. I tried to delete it, but it's still there and in the top right of the browser window it pops up a json error message.bcJsonError.PNG

    Clicking view details shows this
    bcNullError.PNG

    I double checked and the group is still showing in the app group list and I was able to join it with a new account. I tried to remove again without luck. Not sure if it's because the group owner account doesn't exist anymore that it's running into this error.


  • brainCloud

    @Developer said in Can't delete group after using "Delete users":

    o a group of testers. After our internal testing, I normally clear out all users and groups for the external testers.
    Normally I'd remove the users one at a time, but I used the Delete users button to clear all of them.
    Then I went to check the group and noticed it was still there. I tried to delete it, but it's still there and in the top right of the browser window it pops up a json error message.

    Hmm, interesting. Can you send us the appId of your app via the Green Chat widget and we'll check it out?

    And the groupId in question as well.


  • brainCloud

    Update - the devs have been able to repro this problem and are working on a fix.

    We will likely have a patch available Monday or Tuesday next week (the 3rd or 4th) -- depending upon how testing goes.

    Is this blocking development for you in the meantime?



  • @Paul-Winterhalder

    Thanks Paul,
    It should be fine. We'll just inform the testers to not use that group and make sure they are creating and testing in a new group for now.


  • brainCloud

    Hi Chris,

    The defect has been fixed - or at least the most egregious symptom, which is that if you have a group with members who have been deleted, you can delete the group now.

    We'll be further queuing up a feature to pro-actively delete the groups when you delete users & testers using the admin menu. That'll come in a future release.

    Cheers!

    Paul.



  • Thanks Paul!


  • brainCloud

    @Chris-Brown No Prob - happy to help!


Log in to reply